Stop Everything and Go Read Bilgrimage (Again)!

First, apologies for missing my planned Thursday post on Esolen’s Defending Marriage. I’ll get it out tomorrow, and then hopefully get back on track on Tuesday with my review of Reilly’s Making Gay Okay.

But I want to do a quick post on the Synod, now that it’s wrapping up until next year. I was encouraged by the midterm relatio, and I still am encouraged by what its appearance means. But I have to say that I was overwhelmed by the vehemence of the pushback against it. As Fred Clark pointed out at his slacktivist site, there is literally one answer to the central question of paragraph 50: “[A]re we capable of welcoming these people, guaranteeing to them a fraternal space in our communities?”

One Christian answer. One.

“Yes.”

Yes, yes, yes, a thousand times yes.

And a whole big chunk of the Christian world shouted “No!” So loudly that the American bishops struck the word “welcoming” from their version of the document. Welcome the marginalized? Absurd.

I can’t imagine a better response than the one Bill Lindsey posted today. It’s an absolute must-read: “I’m Going to Sit at the Welcome Table One of These Days. A Sunday Sermon.”

The vision of a table at which everyone sits together is one that explodes worlds. It’s one that explodes worlds in which some people count and others do not count, in which some people have a right to tables and others do not enjoy that right, in whcih some people deserve food and others do not deserve to be fed, or deserve to be fed slop as they kneel at animal troughs.
So, venerable fathers of my Roman Catholic church: you may, if you wish, continue to talk until you are blue in the face about who’s worthy to sit at your table. But no matter how long you talk, I will continue to believe that it’s God who makes the final decision about who will sit at the table that belongs to God, and not to you. I will continue to believe that all God’s children are going to sit at the welcome table one of these days.
And, yes, I’m going to tell God how you’ve treated me — though I intend to plead with Her not to deal with you as cruelly and mercilessly as you have dealt with me. Because no human being deserves such treatment, and certainly not by those who imagine they are the final judges and arbiters of who may sit at the table that belongs to God alone … .
Leave a Reply

